The platform unites researchers from 18 scientific societies and 5 national committees in the field of biology. It promotes the transfer of knowledge and networking opportunities. Through the provision of expertise, the platform generates and maintains a dialogue to the benefit of society and politics.more

Image: Johann, stock.adobe.commore

Science and Film

Film is a strong medium to communicate scientific approaches and findings to a broder public. The Biology Platform supports workshops for students to learn basic techniques of storytelling and filmmaking to present their work.

Furthermore, film festivals offer a broad audience the opportunity to experience scientific topics in films and to discuss them with the protagonists. The Global Science Film Festival has been organised annually in Switzerland since 2019. The festival programme includes film screenings (feature and short films in the presence of the filmmakers), debates (scientists and filmmakers) as well as opening and award ceremonies. Films by scientists in Switzerland are presented in a special category "Scientist as filmmakers". Members of the Biology Platform Board are involved in the jury of the Global Science Film Festival.

Die Plattform vereint Forschende von 18 Schweizer Fachgesellschaften und 5 Landeskomitees aus der Biologie. Sie fördert den Wissenstransfer und die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Fachbereiche. Durch die Vermittlung von Expertise und Dialog schafft sie einen Mehrwert für Gesellschaft und Politik.mehr

Bild: Johann, stock.adobe.commehr

Wissenschaft und Film

Film ist ein starkes Medium, um Forschungsansätze und Ergebnisse aus der Wissenschaft für ein breites Publikum zu kommunizieren. Die Plattform Biologie unterstützt Workshops, in denen Studierende grundlegende Techniken des Films lernen, um diese für die Kommunikation ihrer Forschungsarbeiten zu nutzen.

Darüberhinaus bieten Film Festivals der Gesellschaft die Möglichkeit, wissenschaftliche Themen in Filmen zu erfahren und mit den Protagonisten zu diskutieren. Das Global Science Film Festival wird seit 2019 jährlich in der Schweiz organisiert. Das Festivalprogramm umfasst Filmvorführungen (Spiel- und Kurzfilme in Anwesenheit der FilmemacherInnen), Debatten (WissenschaftlerInnen und Filmemachende) sowie Eröffnungs- und Preisverleihungen. Filme von WissenschaftlerInnen in der Schweiz werden in einer speziellen Kategorie "Scientists as Filmmakers" gezeigt. Präsidiumsmitglieder der Plattform Biologie engagieren sich in der Jury des Global Science Film Festivals.